Mary J. Blige

My Life

Released 20.11.20

£24.99 / 12" Double LP

Polydor, UMC


2LP Mary J. Blige, the legendary singer-songwriter, actress, philanthropist and honorary Queen of Hip-Hop Soul, will re-release her acclaimed 1994 sophomore album, My Life, via Geffen/UMe. The album celebrated its 25th anniversary November 29 / 2020. The Yonkers-raised singer, recorded her 3x platinum 1992 debut, What’s the 411?, with Sean “Puffy” Combs behind the board. Two years later Blige released her most introspective, personal and culturally impactful album of her career, My Life. To craft the sound, she asked Chucky Thompson, a Washington, D.C. record producer known for being in Bad Boy Entertainment’s “Hitmen” producer’s club, to join Price Charles Alexander behind the boards; he gave the sound a radiant blend of R&B and quiet storm. And Blige flexed her encyclopedic knowledge of soul by sampling Roy Ayers (“My Life”), Curtis Mayfield (“I’m The Only Woman”), Isaac Hayes (“I Love You”) and Al Green (“No One Else”). In 2011, she released My Life II… The Journey Continues (Act 1), a clear-eyed extension of My Life that shot to No. 5 on the Billboard 200. In recent years, Blige has recorded numerous albums and duets with everyone from Bono to George Michael, has become an Oscar nominated actor, and even founded her own production company, Blue Butterfly. Still, the ultra-intimate, 3x platinum My Life stands alone as an unflinching document of Blige as she struggled to see light in the darkness.

Side A
1. Intro
2 Mary Jane (All Night Long)
3. You Bring Me Joy
4. Marvin Interlude
5. I’m The Only Woman

Side B

1. K. Murray Interlude
2. My Life
3. You Gotta Believe
4. I Never Wanna Live Without You

Side C
1. I’m Goin’ Down
2. My Life Interlude
3. Be With You
4. Mary’s Joint

Side D
1. Don’t Go
2. I Love You
3. No One Else
4. Be Happy

Normally ships within 24 hours.